Incumbents win in Ketchikan Indian Community Tribal Council elections

The Ketchikan Indian Community Clinic and Administration Building on Tongass Avenue is shown in 2013. (KRBD)

The composition of the Ketchikan Indian Community Tribal Council is unchanged following Monday’s election at the Ted Ferry Civic Center. Incumbents Norman Skan, Melissa Johnson and Charles “Chas” Edwardson emerged victorious in a field of eight contestants.

Skan and Johnson each got just over 200 votes with Edwardson about 50 votes behind. Each of the three incumbents won another three-year term. Debi White was the only challenger to score over 100 votes.

The council will select its chair, vice-chair and other officers on January 24.

Some 404 people voted in the elections, down about 13% from last year. Ketchikan Indian Community Communications Officer Mischa Chernick said in an email that all tribal members 18 and older were eligible to vote, but a voter turnout figure was not immediately available.

The Tribal Council is the governing body representing the approximately 6,000 members of the Ketchikan Indian community.

An incumbent and a challenger won seats on the KIC Health Advisory Council, a body that advises the Tribal Council on health care policy. Kim Wilson came in first with over 230 votes. Roberta Hull won the other two-year term, about 20 votes behind. Outgoing board chair Sharyl Yeisley was defeated, winning about 170 votes.

Previous Great musical celebration of Indian culture from Zee TV
Next Aparna Yadav seeks example of Mulayam Singh's blessing on Indian culture, says BJP leader