Google adds the world’s oldest Indian language to Google Translate

Google announced at the I/O Developer Conference that it has added 24 new languages ​​to Google Translate.

Sundar Pichai, CEO of Alphabet, said in his keynote: “There is a long tail of languages ​​that are underrepresented on the web today and translating them is a difficult technical problem because translation patterns are usually trained with bilingual text. However, there are not enough bilingual texts available to the public for each language.

Image source: Sundar Pichai, CEO of Alphabet.

Of these 24 new additions, eight languages ​​are from India. These include:

  • Assamese, which is used by around 25 million people in northeastern India
  • Bhojpuri, which is used by around 50 million people in northern India, Nepal and Fiji
  • Dogri, which is used by around 3 million people in northern India
  • Konkani, which is used by around 2 million people in central India
  • Maithili, which is used by around 34 million people in northern India
  • Meiteilon or Manipuri, which is used by around 2 million people in northeast India
  • Mizo, which is used by around 830,000 people in northeast India
  • Sanskrit, which is used by around 20,000 people in India

– Advertising –

Isaac Caswell, a Google Translate research scientist, said HEY”Sanskrit is the number one and most requested language on Google Translate, and we’re finally adding it.”

google 2
Image source: Google.

As part of this update, the native languages ​​of the Americas (Quechua, Guarani, and Aymara) and an English dialect (Sierra Leonean Krio) have also been added to Translate for the first time.

Caswell added: “This ranges from smaller languages ​​like Mizo spoken by people in northeast India – by around 800,000 people – to very large global languages ​​like Lingala spoken by around 45 million people. people across Central Africa.”

Other rare languages ​​that are now part of Google Translate include:

  • Aymara (used by about two million people in some Latin American countries)
  • Bambara (used by approximately 14 million people in Mali)
  • Dhivehi (used by around 300,000 people in the Maldives)
  • Ewe (used by about seven million people in Ghana and Togo)
  • Guarani (used by approximately seven million people in several South American countries)
  • Ilocano (used by approximately 10 million people in the northern Philippines)
  • Krio (used by approximately four million people in Sierra Leone)
  • Kurdish or Sorani (used by about eight million people, mostly in Iraq and parts of Turkey)
  • Lingala, (used by approximately 45 million people in Central and East Africa)
  • Luganda (used by approximately 20 million people in Uganda and Rwanda)
  • Oromo (used by about 37 million people in Ethiopia and Kenya)
  • Quechua (used by approximately 10 million people in Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador and neighboring countries)
  • Sepedi (used by approximately 14 million people in South Africa)
  • Tigrinya (used by about eight million people in Eritrea and Ethiopia)
  • Tsonga (used by about seven million people in Southern Africa)
  • Twi (used by approximately 11 million people in Ghana)

Google also announced that it has made many key improvements to its Google Translate service.

Caswell observed: “Until a few years ago it was simply not technologically possible to add languages ​​like these, which are what we call low resource – meaning that ‘there aren’t many textual resources for them.

– Advertising –

Google Translate now supports over 133 different languages. It can be used from web browser or a user can install the app from Google Play Store or Apple App Store.

Like? Take a second to support The Australia Today News on Patreon!

become a patron button 3

Previous Priyanka Chopra keeps Indian culture alive in her American home, here's why
Next Taiwan's Indian community is small but strong, Time New Delhi appreciates it